MY SHEPHERD’S PIE

 

Since I have moved to UK, I started learning to cook British food and one of my favourite is the classic Shepherd’s pie because I prefer to cook simple and delicious recipes.

Below I will show you my way of making my Shepherd’s pie. First I will start by showing you the list of ingredients.

500g good-quality minced lamb

1 onion

1 carrot

2 sticks of celery

100g of peas

4 small cloves of garlic (I have home grown ones)

vegetable oil

400ml tomato sauce

250ml lamb organic stock

sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Provençal herbs (savory,marjoram, rosemary, thyme, oregano)

 large splash Worcestershire sauce

large splash red wine

4 potatoes potatoes

milk

butter

150-200g of cheese

Before I start cooking I choose to wash, peel and chop all the vegetables. After that I heat a medium saucepan and add some vegetable oil where I soften the onion, carrots and the celery for few minutes. In the same time in a large pan I prepare the quality minced lamb, crumbling it until is getting brown. I also prefer to take out the excess fat.

While the vegetables and the lamb are cooking, I prepare the lamb stock and put the potatoes in a pan with salt to boil them for the mash.

photo 2

When the lamb is ready, I add the vegetables, tomato and Worcestershire sauce, red wine, salt, pepper and Provençal herbs. After mixing them I add the stock and bring to a simmer. After that I prefer to cover it and cook it for about 40 minutes.

Meanwhile I preheat the oven to around 180c and then prepare the mash. I drain the potatoes and mash them with milk and butter.

photo 2.JPG

When everything is ready, I put the mix in an oven proof dish and mix with the peas. After that top it with the mash and sprinkle it with the cheese. In the oven I bake it for 20-30 min until the top is getting golden brown.

And now is ready to be eaten.

Bon Appetite and if you have a different Shepherd’s pie recipe please shout out!

Leave a Reply

