My 2015 German Market Adventure

photo (2)
Enter a caption

In the weekend that just passed me and my partner in crime decided that we have to visit the leading German market and the heart of the city’s festive event calendar that returns to Birmingham each year in mid November for 5 weeks.

FullSizeRender (4)We explored almost all the stalls that were selling Christmas decorations (that I fall in love every single year), hand made jewellery decorations of all kind of sorts, handmade toys (that are absolutely gorgeous) and not to forget to mention the traditional food and drinks.

FullSizeRenderI have a personal list of  Top Six  Things to do at the German Market every single year and I strongly recommend: buying Christmas decorations, eating a German Bratwurst & Brezel, having hot Glühwein (mulled wine), taking ride on the Carousel, and listen to traditional Carols & Christmas songs and of course sing alongside the singing moose.

photoThe traditional Christmas decorations are one of my favourite things to buy for my friends and family from candles, hand made jewellery, Christmas cards and the beautiful and unique Christmas tree decoration ( the globes are fantastic). All the craft can be the perfect present for the loved ones, and why not, for myself ( :”>)

My favourite food is the German Bratwurst (red sausage) that is traditional German food and well renowned throughout the world. Bratwurst is even better when you have it with the mulled red wine so called Glühwein. In this season I just love the smell and the taste of the mixed spices (cinnamon, cloves, oranges and nutmeg) and is the best way to end a cold and windy night.

IMG_7209After enjoying the food and watching the horse ride on the carousel placed at Victoria Square. I enjoyed a mug of mulled red wine while listening to traditional Carols and Christmas songs. Another attraction of the market is also the Chris Moose that over the years become one of the biggest charms of it and he knows how to create a great atmosphere.

I hope you are or you will enjoy the Christmas German Market as much as I do every single year!

FullSizeRender (6)

2 thoughts on “My 2015 German Market Adventure

Leave a Reply

